Chet Tomczyk - President & CEO

Chet Tomczyk,

President & CEO



March 2014

February 2014

January 2014

December 2013

November 2013

October 2013

September 2013

August 2013

July 2013

June 2013

May 2013

April 2013

March 2013

February 2013

January 2013

December 2012

November 2012

October 2012

September 2012

August 2012

June 2012

May 2012

April 2012

March 2012

January 2012

December 2011

November 2011

October 2011

September 2011

August 2011

June 2011

May 2011

April 2011

March 2011

January 2011

December 2010

November 2010

October 2010

September 2010

August 2010

June 2010

May 2010

April 2010

March 2010

February 2010

January 2010

December 2009

November 2009

October 2009

September 2009

August 2009

July 2009

June 2009

May 2009

April 2009

March 2009

February 2009

January 2009

December 2008

November 2008

October 2008

September 2008

August 2008

July 2008

June 2008

May 2008

April 2008

March 2008

No column for February 2008

January 2008

December 2007

November 2007

October 2007

September 2007

August 2007

July 2007

June 2007

Notes from the President & CEO - July 2013


The Annual meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Valley Public Telecommunications Corporation, the 501(c)(3) not for profit corporation that holds the license and governs WTVP on your behalf, was held on June 11, 2013. The agenda was jam packed with action items for the Board to consider, including the WTVP operating budget for FY 2014.

A momentous action was the adoption of a new set of Bylaws that recognizes contemporary realities, needs and practices, and conforms to the changes in Illinois laws that have occurred over the past 44 years. The previous Constitution and Bylaws were crafted in 1969 when IVPTC was founded, and have been amended many times since. New laws, new technologies and new realities demanded a major update.

One change is replacement of the term “trustee”—which has a particular legal meaning—to “director”. The number of directors was reduced from 31 to a range of 19 to 24 diverse individuals. A Governance Committee was established to recommend and fill vacancies on the Board. In doing so, they will consider persons representative of the following: primary, secondary and post-secondary education; cultural, scientific organizations, finance, business, technology and other professions, the geographic area served by WTVP, and the demographic composition of the communities located within the WTVP coverage area.

Election of Directors was held, and several current members were retained (see list elsewhere in this guide). They will be joined by W. Eric Turner and Henry Holling, who were elected to three year terms, and Karl Stach, who was elected for a one-year term.

Officers elected for the FY 2014 year were: Joe Strupek, Chairman; Jon Burklund, Vice Chairman; Chet Tomczyk, President & CEO; Dr. Cynthia Fischer, Secretary; Jerry Kolb, Treasurer. Wayne Baum, Dr. William Tammone, and Chuck Walker were also appointed to the Executive Committee.

The Board also expressed its gratitude to several retiring Trustees who have served with distinction over the past several years: Steve Backlund, Jerry Herbstrieth, Mary Ann Knell, Nancy Levenick, P. Joseph O’Neill, Sheldon Schafer, and Peter Wong.

These annual meetings are always bittersweet. While it is always exciting to welcome new Directors to the Board and to anticipate the year ahead, it is tough to see old friends rotate off the Board. I would like to express my personal thanks to all the retiring members for their hard work, dedication, and time and effort in making WTVP a useful asset to the Central Illinois community. I am especially grateful for their friendship and support.



blog comments powered by Disqus

HOME | Support WTVP | TV Schedule | Programming | Station EventsProduction ServicesAbout WTVP

Shop PBS | | PBS Kids  | PBS Kids Go  | PBS Parents  | PBS Teachers

WTVP 47 · 101 State Street, Peoria, Illinois 61602-1547 (309)677-4747
WTVP &, Public Media for Central Illinois
© 1995-2014 Illinois Valley Public Telecommunications Corporation