WTVP Headlines





WTVP 47 Elects New Board Members

Tuesday, June 17th, 2008



Peoria, IL — WTVP 47 is pleased to announce the election of a new trustee and slate of officers to the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Valley Public Telecommunication Corporation (IVPTC), the governing body of Central Illinois’ public television station. Many trustees were also re-elected to the board at the Annual Meeting held June 10 in the WTVP Studio.

Mr. Salvador Garza of Galesburg was elected as a new trustee and will serve a three-year term. Mr. Garza is an economic developer for the Illinois Department of Commerce-Economic Development.

Steve Backlund, Chairman of Better Banks, Tom Spurgeon, Business Development Officer of Lincoln Office, and Peter Wong, owner of Perpetual Jewel, were each re-elected to serve a second three-year term as At Large trustees.

P. Joseph O'Neill, President of G&D Integrated, and Don Ullman, Chairman of the Board of Federal Companies, were each re-elected to the board and will now be serving three-year terms as At Large trustees.

Wayne Baum, President of CORE Construction, Jon Burklund, President & COO of Burklund Distributors, Cisty Davis, community volunteer, and Mary Ann Knell, Coldwell Banker Devonshire Realtor, were re-elected and will now serve one-year Honorary terms with voting privileges.

Cynthia Fischer, Assistant Superintendent Peoria Public Schools, was re-elected to a three-year term representing Peoria School District 150.

Jerry Herbsteith, President of the Pekin Friends of 47, Linda Huddle, President of the Galesburg Area Friends of 47, and Chester A. Tomczyk, CEO of WTVP were re-elected as Ex Officio Trustees.

Officers and Executive Committee members for 2008-2009 are: P. Joseph O’Neill, Chairman; Wayne Baum, Vice Chairman; Jon Burklund, Secretary; Marianne Moll, VP CEFCU Financial, Treasurer; Steve Backlund and Andrew Rand, Executive Director of Advanced Medical Transport, At Large; and Chester A. Tomczyk, President.

Illinois Valley Public Telecommunications Corporation (IVPTC) is the non-profit, community licensee for public television station WTVP 47. Its 31-member volunteer Board of Trustees is comprised of elected individuals representing viewers and educational and cultural institutions from communities all throughout WTVP's 22-county coverage area.


For further information contact Chet Tomczyk, (309) 677-4747 or chet.tomczyk@wtvp.org 



[Back to WTVP Headlines]


HOME | Support WTVP | TV Schedule | Programming | Station EventsProduction ServicesAbout WTVP

Shop PBS | PBS.org | PBS Kids  | PBS Kids Go  | PBS Parents  | PBS Teachers

WTVP 47 · 101 State Street, Peoria, Illinois 61602-1547 (309)677-4747
WTVP & WTVP.org, Public Media for Central Illinois
© 1995-2017 Illinois Valley Public Telecommunications Corporation