WTVP Headlines




National Memorial Day Concert on WTVP 47.1

Friday, May 1st, 2009



On Memorial Day weekend, PBS will unite our nation with an evening that has become an American tradition. The multi award-winning National Memorial Day Concert honors the service and sacrifice of our men and women in uniform, their families at home, and all those who have given their lives for our country.


The 2009 event commemorates 20 years on air as the nationís memorial service, offering viewers a time to remember, to heal and bring our country together. The top-rated show will be broadcast live from the West Lawn of the U.S. Capitol on Sunday, May 24 from 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.  before a concert audience of hundreds of thousands, millions more at home, as well as to our troops serving around the world on the American Forces Radio and Television Network.

The program will be co-hosted for the fourth year by Emmy Award-winner Gary Sinise and Tony Award-winner Joe Mantegna. An all-star line-up of dignitaries, actors and musical artists will join them, including distinguished American leader Colin L. Powell, actress Dianne Wiest, singer Katharine McPhee, Broadway star Colm Wilkinson, opera star Denyce Graves, classical musician Lang Lang, country music superstar Trace Adkins, Tony Award-winning Broadway star Brian Stokes Mitchell, and violin virtuoso Robert McDuffie in performance with the National Symphony Orchestra under the direction of maestro Erich Kunzel.

The concert will feature uplifting musical performances, documentary footage and dramatic readings that honor all Americans who have served or made the ultimate sacrifice for our country.


For further information contact Janet McGrath, (309) 495-0593 or janet.mcgrath@wtvp.org 



[Back to WTVP Headlines]


HOME | Support WTVP | TV Schedule | Programming | Station EventsProduction ServicesAbout WTVP

Shop PBS | PBS.org | PBS Kids  | PBS Kids Go  | PBS Parents  | PBS Teachers

WTVP 47 ∑ 101 State Street, Peoria, Illinois 61602-1547 (309)677-4747
WTVP & WTVP.org, Public Media for Central Illinois
© 1995-2017 Illinois Valley Public Telecommunications Corporation