WTVP Headlines





Pekin Friends 2011 Bowl-A-Thon for WTVP

Tuesday, December 14th, 2010



Peoria, IL ó The Pekin Friends of 47 are pleased to announce their annual bowl-a-thon, a special benefit for WTVP-Public Media for Central Illinois. This yearís event will be held Saturday, March 5th at Sunset Lanes on Court Street in Pekin, starting at 1:00 p.m. The event features bowling, food, fun for the whole family, prizes and menís and ladiesí trophies for individual high scores and most money raised for WTVP.


Everyone is welcome. Bowlers may register as singles or as teams of up to five people. League bowlers are also welcome to use their league play in support of the bowl-a-thon. The cost per bowler is $6.00, which includes three games of bowling, shoe rental and snacks.

Bowlers are asked to recruit pledges to support their scores, and all proceeds will be donated to WTVP. Typically, bowlers ask friends, family and co-workers to either pledge a few cents per pin, or donate a flat fee up front. Each bowler who raises at least $47 for the station will receive a commemorative bowl-a-thon t-shirt.

The bowl-a-thon is the Pekin Friendsí major annual fundraising event. The Pekin Friends of 47 is a civic group that supports the educational mission of public television station WTVP 47 through volunteerism and fundraising. Proceeds from the bowl-a-thon typically go to support childrenís programming and special projects at the station.

Bowlers may register and request pledge forms by calling Event Chairman Yvonne Herbstreith, (309) 346-7901.


   Bowl-A-Thon sponsor sheet.pdf

Get Abobe Acrobat Reader



For further information contact the WTVP Development Office at (309) 495-0547 or development@wtvp.org



[Back to WTVP Headlines]


HOME | Support WTVP | TV Schedule | Programming | Station EventsProduction ServicesAbout WTVP

Shop PBS | PBS.org | PBS Kids  | PBS Kids Go  | PBS Parents  | PBS Teachers

WTVP 47 ∑ 101 State Street, Peoria, Illinois 61602-1547 (309)677-4747
WTVP & WTVP.org, Public Media for Central Illinois
© 1995-2018 Illinois Valley Public Telecommunications Corporation