WTVP Headlines




Thursday, December 6th, 2012


One Singular Sensation: Celebrating Marvin Hamlisch


Airs New Year's Eve, Monday, December 31st at 7pm on WTVP-HD

Marvin Hamlisch

– A New York Philharmonic New Year’s Eve Concert Honoring the Late Composer-Conductor –
- Featuring Joshua Bell, Raúl Esparza, Michael Feinstein, Maria Friedman, Josh Groban, Megan Hilty, Audra McDonald, Kelli O’Hara, and Frederica Von Stade -

Before his passing on August 6, 2012, renowned composer-conductor Marvin Hamlisch was scheduled to conduct the New York Philharmonic’s 2012 New Year’s Eve program. The Orchestra will instead dedicate its annual New Year’s event to this icon of American music, and Live From Lincoln Center will bring the all-start tribute to viewers nationwide. The live broadcast, “One Singular Sensation: Celebrating Marvin Hamlisch,” will air locally on WTVP, Monday, December 31st at 7pm on WTVP-HD.

Live From Lincoln Center host Audra McDonald is among the artists associated with Marvin Hamlisch’s extraordinary career who will perform in The New York Philharmonic’s New Year’s Eve celebration. Directed by Lonny Price and conducted by Paul Gemignani, “One Singular Sensation: Celebrating Marvin Hamlisch” will also feature Joshua Bell, Raúl Esparza, Michael Feinstein, Maria Friedman, Josh Groban, Megan Hilty, Kelli O’Hara, and Frederica Von Stade in a program highlighting music that spans Hamlisch’s groundbreaking music for stage and film.

Marvin Hamlisch, who received three Oscars, four Grammys, four Emmys, a Tony, and three Golden Globe Awards, plus a Pulitzer Prize, penned some of the most popular Broadway and Hollywood scores of all time, from A Chorus Line, The Sweet Smell of Success, and The Goodbye Girl to The Way We Were, The Sting, Sophie’s Choice, and literally dozens more. He was also highly in demand as a conductor with ties to numerous orchestras, particularly The New York Philharmonic.

“One Singular Sensation” will be broadcast from the Philharmonic’s Lincoln Center home, Avery Fisher Hall. It will mark the Orchestra’s 74th Live From Lincoln Center presentation and its 14th New Year’s Eve broadcast.





Founded in 1842, the New York Philharmonic is one of the oldest orchestras in the world. Since its inception, it has played a leading role in American musical life, reaching out to audiences with touring that began in 1882; recordings beginning in 1917; and radio broadcasts since 1922, now represented by The New York Philharmonic This Week, syndicated nationally 52 weeks a year.

Live From Lincoln Center is in its 37h broadcast season. The series has received 13 Emmy Awards to date. Live From Lincoln Center has made the world’s greatest artists on Lincoln Center’s renowned stages accessible to home viewers in virtually every corner of the United States. This episode will be directed by Alan Skog and executive produced by Andrew C Wilk. Lincoln Center’s Chief Media and Digital Officer, Elizabeth W. Scott, is executive in charge of the series’ production.

Live From Lincoln Center is made possible by a major grant from MetLife.

In addition to underwriting from MetLife, the series is also made possible with generous support from the Robert Wood Johnson 1962 Charitable Trust, Thomas H. Lee and Ann Tenenbaum, The Robert and Renée Belfer Family Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

National Sponsor of Lincoln Center, Inc.

Official Sponsor of Lincoln Center, Inc.

United Airlines
Official Airline of Lincoln Center, Inc.

Official Broadcast Partner of Lincoln Center

William Hill Estate Winery
Official Wine of Lincoln Center, Inc.





For further information contact Linda Miller, WTVP Vice President of Programming, at (309) 495-0591 or linda.miller@wtvp.org



[Back to WTVP Headlines]


blog comments powered by Disqus

HOME | Support WTVP | TV Schedule | Programming | Station EventsProduction ServicesAbout WTVP

Shop PBS | PBS.org | PBS Kids  | PBS Kids Go  | PBS Parents  | PBS Teachers

WTVP 47 · 101 State Street, Peoria, Illinois 61602-1547 (309)677-4747
WTVP & WTVP.org, Public Media for Central Illinois
© 1995-2017 Illinois Valley Public Telecommunications Corporation