Skip to main content

Finding Your Roots | January 2024

Email share

The acclaimed series returns with Professor Gates exploring the mysteries, surprises and revelations hidden in the family trees of popular figures.

FINDING YOUR ROOTS

Renowned scholar Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr. returns for an all-new season of Finding Your Roots. Over the course of ten episodes, Gates uses genealogical detective work and cutting-edge DNA analysis to guide twenty-one influential guests through the branches of their family trees. They uncover buried secrets and inspiring stories of long-forgotten ancestors.

Finding Your Roots

Extended Trailer

3:15
Published:

FINDING YOUR ROOTS
BORN TO SING
TUESDAY, JANUARY 2, 7 PM

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. explores the roots of singers Alanis Morissette and Ciara, revealing their hidden connections to history and music.
 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/02/4024 @ 7:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/03/4024 @ 12:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/04/4024 @ 4:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 01/07/4024 @ 8:00 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/08/4024 @ 12:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/08/4024 @ 8:00 AM
Alanis Morissette | Ciara
Alanis Morissette | Ciara
PBS
Valerie Bertinelli | Brendan Fraser
Valerie Bertinelli | Brendan Fraser
PBS

FINDING YOUR ROOTS
FOREVER YOUNG
TUESDAY, JANUARY 9, 7 PM

Meet Valerie Bertinelli and Brendan Fraser — two actors who’ve spent their lives in the limelight, never knowing their roots. Each discovers ancestors who paved the way for their success.
 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/09/4024 @ 7:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/10/4024 @ 12:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/11/4024 @ 4:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 01/14/4024 @ 8:00 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/15/4024 @ 12:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/15/4024 @ 8:00 AM

FINDING YOUR ROOTS
FATHERS AND SONS
TUESDAY, JANUARY 16, 7 PM

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. meets actors LeVar Burton and Wes Studi—two men who grew up without their fathers. With few clues to guide him, Gates introduces them to ancestors they’ve never known—revealing connections to key moments in history.
 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/16/4024 @ 7:00 PM
  • \WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/17/4024 @ 12:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/18/4024 @ 4:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 01/21/4024 @ 8:00 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/22/4024 @ 12:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/22/4024 @ 8:00 AM
Wes Studi | LeVar Burton
Wes Studi | LeVar Burton
PBS
Sammy Hagar | Ed O’Neill
Ed O’Neill | Sammy Hagar
PBS

FINDING YOUR ROOTS
BURIED SECRETS
TUESDAY, JANUARY 23, 7 PM

Singer Sammy Hagar and actor Ed O’Neill uncover their roots, revealing secrets their ancestors went to great lengths to conceal — and celebrating the virtue of accepting one’s relatives, whoever they may be.
 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/23/4024 @ 7:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/24/4024 @ 12:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/25/4024 @ 4:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 01/28/4024 @ 8:00 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/29/4024 @ 12:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/29/4024 @ 8:00 AM

FINDING YOUR ROOTS
HOLD THE LAUGHTER
TUESDAY, JANUARY 30, 7 PM

Uncover the roots of comedians Bob Odenkirk and Iliza Shlesinger — two funny people whose family trees brim with dramatic stories, introducing them to relatives who took great risks to overcome enormous hardships.
 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/30/4024 @ 7:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/31/4024 @ 12:00 PM
Iliza Shlesinger | Bob Odenkirk
Iliza Shlesinger | Bob Odenkirk
PBS