Skip to main content

History | January 2024

Email share

STONE OF HOPE: MOVING THE DREAM FORWARD
SUNDAY, JANUARY 14, 6 PM

Learn about the first decade of the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. Now the fifth most visited Memorial, the only Memorial on the National Mall honoring an activist, a preacher and a man of peace.

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sun, 01/14/4024 @ 6:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Mon, 01/15/4024 @ 3:00 AM
  • WTVP-REMOTE 47.5 - Mon, 01/15/4024 @ 6:00 PM
  • WTVP-REMOTE 47.5 - Mon, 01/15/4024 @ 10:30 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sat, 01/20/4024 @ 2:00 AM

THE SHOT HEARD 'ROUND THE WORLD: 
THE COMING OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
TUESDAY, JANUARY 16, 8 PM

"THE SHOT HEARD 'ROUND THE WORLD': THE COMING OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION chronicles the settlement of the original thirteen American colonies and explains how the cultural "Englishness" of those colonies began to change over time.
 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/16/4024 @ 8:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/17/4024 @ 12:00 AM

BENJAMIN FRANKLIN
FRIDAY, JANUARY 19 AND 26, 8 PM

Epsiode #101 |  Join Or Die (1706-1774)

Leaving behind his Boston childhood, Benjamin Franklin reinvents himself in Philadelphia, building a printing empire and a new life. Turning to science, Franklin's lightning rod and experiments in electricity earn him worldwide fame.

 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Fri, 01/19/2024 @ 8:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sat, 01/20/2024 @ 12:00 AM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Mon, 01/22/2024 @ 2:00 AM

 

Epsiode #102 |  An American (1775-1790)

Benjamin Franklin left London and returned to wartime Philadelphia, where he joined Congress and helped Thomas Jefferson craft the Declaration of Independence. He spends his last years in the new United States, working on the Constitution and unsuccessfully promoting the abolition of slavery.

 

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Fri, 01/26/2024 @ 8:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sat, 01/27/2024 @ 12:00 AM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Mon, 01/29/2024 @ 2:00 AM

 

Benjamin Franklin portrait by Joseph Siffred Duplessis, c.1785
National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution

GREAT CHICAGO FIRE: AMERICAN STORIES
SUNDAY, JANUARY 21, 6 PM

On October 10, 1871, Chicago awoke to an unrecognizable landscape: where 48 hours earlier, there had been a vibrant city, now there was nothing but rubble stretched for miles on end. The Great Chicago Fire: A Chicago Stories Special documentary brings to life this seismic event as never before, using vivid animations, elaborate re-creations and interviews with historians and the descendants of eyewitnesses.
 

  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sat, 01/20/4024 @ 6:00 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sun, 01/21/4024 @ 6:00 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Mon, 01/22/4024 @ 3:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Thu, 01/25/4024 @ 4:00 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Thu, 01/25/4024 @ 10:00 AM
  • WTVP-REMOTE 47.5 - Fri, 01/26/4024 @ 6:00 PM
  • WTVP-REMOTE 47.5 - Fri, 01/26/4024 @ 10:30 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sat, 01/27/4024 @ 2:00 AM