Skip to main content
PBS American Portrait - January 2021
Email share
PBS American Portrait, A Series Mage by You - #AmericanPortraitPBS

PBS American Portrait

This unique, crowdsourced series turns stories filmed by everyday people into documentaries revealing what it really means to be American today. It’s the story of what brings us together and what keeps us apart as we strive to understand each other.

PBS American Portrait is an ongoing, evolving initiative that asks you, and people all over the country, to submit your individual stories by responding to one of a number of thought provoking prompts. Whether it’s joy or sorrow, triumph or hardship, family traditions you’ve followed for decades or just the chaos of the morning school run, we want to put together a picture of life as it’s really lived, today. It’s a chance for you to give us a glimpse into your life, and a chance for you to be heard.

PBS American Portrait

Series Preview | PBS American Portrait

0:30
Published:

Intimate self-shot stories reveal what it really means to be American today.


PBS AMERICAN PORTRAIT
I DREAM
TUESDAY, JANUARY 5, 8 PM

Self-shot stories explore the meaning and state of the American dream. From the desire for homeownership to ambitions for higher ed or career success, they show the hard work, opportunities and barriers that come with pursuing this ideal today.

Airdates:

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/05/2021 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/06/2021 @ 12 AM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/07/2021 @ 2 AM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sat, 01/09/2021 @ 2 AM
  • WTVP-WR 47.3 - Sat, 01/09/2021 @ 6 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sun, 01/10/2021 @ 2 AM
  • WTVP-WR 47.3 - Mon, 01/11/2021 @ 3 AM
I Dream - Tyler's dreams of providing his future wife and children a life he didn't have growing up.
Courtesy of PBS/Radical Media

I Work - Trucker Laura prepare for their next long-haul.
Courtesy of PBS/Radical Media

PBS AMERICAN PORTRAIT
I WORK
TUESDAY, JANUARY 12, 8 PM

Everyday people share stories about their jobs and careers as they navigate the changes they’re experiencing and the goals they’re working toward. From teachers to truck drivers, they explore what it really means to work in America today.

Airdates:

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/12/2021 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/13/2021 @ 12 AM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/14/2021 @ 2 AM
  • WTVP-WR 47.3 - Sat, 01/16/2021 @ 6 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Sun, 01/17/2021 @ 2 AM
  • WTVP-WR 47.3 - Mon, 01/18/2021 @ 3 AM

PBS AMERICAN PORTRAIT
I KEEP
TUESDAY, JANUARY 19, 8 PM

People film themselves as they try to preserve or change traditions in their lives and communities. From struggles to protect culture to eliminating toxic legacies, it’s an intimate look at the practices we’ve inherited and the ones we’ll pass on.

Airdates:

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/19/2021 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/20/2021 @ 12 AM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/21/2021 @ 3 AM
  • WTVP-WR 47.3 - Sat, 01/23/2021 @ 6 PM
  • WTVP-WR 47.3 - Mon, 01/25/2021 @ 3 AM

PBS AMERICAN PORTRAIT
I RISE
TUESDAY, JANUARY 26, 8 PM

Go inside the lives of people working to create an antiracist American future. They film themselves doing the hard work, confronting the obstacles and achieving the small victories that could add up to real change in the movement for racial justice.

Airdates:

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 01/26/2021 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 01/27/2021 @ 12:30 AM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Thu, 01/28/2021 @ 3 AM
  • WTVP-WR 47.3 - Sat, 01/30/2021 @ 6 PM