Skip to main content
Making Black America | October 2022
Email share

Making Black America: Through the Grapevine is a four-part series hosted by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., that chronicles the vast social networks and organizations created by and for Black people — beyond the reach of the “White gaze.” Professor Gates sits with noted scholars, politicians, cultural leaders and old friends to discuss this world behind the color line and what it looks like today.

BUILDING BLACK AMERICA
OCTOBER 4, 8 PM

Explore how free Black people in the North and South built towns, established schools and held conventions, creating robust networks to address the political, economic and social needs of the entire Black community.

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 10/04/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 10/05/2022 @ 12 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sat, 10/08/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 10/09/2022 @ 12 AM

THE WORK OF THE IMAGINATION 
OCTOBER 11, 8 PM

African Americans turn within, creating a community that sustains and empowers. From HBCUs and Black businesses to the Harlem Renaissance and political organizations, Black life flourished.

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 10/11/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 10/12/2022 @ 12 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sat, 10/15/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 10/16/2022 @ 12 AM

A GROWING RESISTANCE 
OCTOBER 18, 8 PM

To survive an economic disaster, African Americans relied on informal economies, grassroots organizations and cultural innovations behind the color line to dismantle the oppressive realities of Jim Crow.

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 10/18/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 10/19/2022 @ 12 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sat, 10/22/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 10/23/2022 @ 12 AM

LIFE BEYOND THE VEIL
OCTOBER 25, 8 PM

Despite the gains of legal desegregation, Black political and cultural movements — from Black Power to Black Twitter — provide a safe space to debate, organize and celebrate.

  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Tue, 10/25/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-HD 47.1 - Wed, 10/26/2022 @ 12:30 AM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sat, 10/29/2022 @ 8 PM
  • WTVP-WORLD 47.3 - Sun, 10/30/2022 @ 12 AM